The best free Kindle books on Amazon Prime

If you’re an existing Amazon Prime member, did you know you already have access to Prime Reading? Whether you’re a confessed bookworm or just like to read on your morning commute, Prime Reading offers unlimited access to a selection of over one thousand e-books, audiobooks, magazines, and comic books to keep you entertained. You’ll find bestsellers from popular publishing houses alongside literary classics from authors like Jane Austen — and the best bit is that all the books are free for Prime members. You also get one free pre-release book per month from a selection of editors’ picks, allowing you to read some great books before everyone else.

You can read on the Kindle Paperwhite or Oasis — or just download the Kindle app for iOS and Android to start reading for free.

Don’t have Amazon Prime? We’ve also rounded up some of the best free Kindle books — with something to suit all tastes. There’s quite a lot to choose from in the Prime Reading catalog, so we’ve selected some of the best free Kindle books on Amazon Prime from a range of genres, including mystery, action, romance, and more.

Jump straight to a category

Action and adventure

Edge of Collapse by Kyla Stone

This chilling post-apocalyptic survival thriller is the first in a seven-book series. Set after an EMP attack destroys the U.S. power grid in the heart of winter, the country is plunged into chaos with no cars, phones, or electricity. But Hannah Sheridan might be having the best day of her life. She’s been held captive by a psychopath for the last five years, and the locks on her cage were disabled by the EMP attack. Released from captivity she finds herself trekking across a frozen, hostile winter wilderness. Meanwhile, Liam Coleman, a reclusive ex-soldier who thought he was prepared for disaster, has just lost everything and everyone important to him. The story follows the journeys of these two to their destination in rural Michigan – over 200 miles away — as they battle not only the cold, unforgiving climate but also the relentless chase from Hannah’s captor.

Amazon Prime Reading

The Atlantis Gene by A.G. Riddle

The first book in the bestselling Origin Mystery trilogy, The Atlantis Gene tells the story of researchers in Antarctica who uncover a mysterious structure buried under the ice. At the same time, an autism researcher in Jakarta discovers a treatment that could change everything. These two incredible discoveries may seem amazing — but not all is as it seems. Together they set off an event that could change humanity forever, and a race to unravel the deepest secrets of our existence. Packed with real science and history, this is a book that will appeal to fans of Michael Crichton and Dan Brown.

Amazon Prime Reading

Hard Road by J.B. Turner

The first in a nine-book series, Hard Road follows black-ops specialist Jon Reznick as he carries out his next hit — a textbook job that’s supposed to look like a suicide. But when the operation is compromised, Reznick finds himself on the run with the man he was meant to kill — a man who’s wanted by the FBI and by a terrorist organization that wants to see the U.S. brought to its knees. When Reznick’s daughter becomes a pawn in the dangerous game, he has to use every trick in the book to stay one step ahead of those responsible. This action-packed thriller is a five-star read that’s perfect for fans of Jack Reacher.

Amazon Prime Reading

Mystery, thriller, and suspense

Thin Air by Lisa Gray

When private investigator Jessica Shaw receives a photo of a three-year-old girl kidnapped twenty-five years ago from LA, she recognizes the girl as herself. Heading to the dark underbelly of LA, she discovers her biological mother was killed on the same night she was taken. Jessica sets out to solve a case forgotten by the police, but before long her path crosses with veteran LAPD detective Jason Pryce, who seems to be hiding something about her mother’s death. This taut thriller is a page-turner that will keep you guessing right until the end.

Amazon Prime Reading

In the Heart of the Fire by Dean Koontz

Whether you read Dean Koontz in the 90s — classics like Watchers or Hideaway — or bypassed him as an author entirely, In the Heart of the Fire is well worth reading. This is a short story, and coming in at just 61 pages it can be devoured in a single sitting. The first of the Nameless series, it’s about the bloodthirsty Sheriff Russell Soakes, who’s terrorizing a small Texas town … until Nameless arrives, a vigilante who’s lost his memory and been commissioned to kill. There are six books in the series in total, although the others aren’t on Prime right now.

Amazon Prime Reading

The Girl Beneath the Sea by Andrew Mayne

Lauderdale Shores police diver Sloan McPherson works as the go-to diver for evidence recovery — until she finds a woman with a murky past floating in a canal; a past that collides with her own. Soon she’s more of a suspect than a witness, and the killer is hunting her down too. Her every move followed by her colleagues, hunted by a killer, and stalked by a cartel searching for their lost fortune, she must stay one step ahead of her enemies — and her family of Florida drug smugglers and treasure hunters — if she wants to stay alive.

Amazon Prime Reading

The Other Wife by Claire McGowan

The Other Wife is one of those books that really gets under your skin, leaving you feeling distinctly uneasy long after you’ve turned the final page. This Amazon charts bestseller follows the story of three strangers who realize they have more in common than they thought. There’s Suzi, who made a mistake and is paying for it, living in an isolated cottage with her jealous husband; Nora, who moves in nearby and quickly becomes Suzi’s friend (but seems to be hiding something); and Elle, who places a high price on perfection while dealing with the betrayal of her husband. When a shocking event brings them all together, their lives will never be the same.

Amazon Prime Reading

History and politics

Second Best Thing: Marilyn, JKF, and a Night to Remember by James L. Swanson

Another short read at just 45 pages long, historian James Swanson reconstructs the fabled night where Marilyn and the President, John F. Kennedy, attended an after-hours, no-press-allowed party at a millionaire’s Manhattan townhouse. Months before Marilyn suggestively crooned “Happy Birthday” to the President, the two spent a weekend together at a private summit hosted by Bing Crosby, followed by the aforementioned party. For over half a century the party has been the subject of myth and rumor, fuelled in part by Cecil Stoughton’s 23 prints labeled “Marilyn Monroe at JKF Party – Sensitive Material; Do Not File”, which were seized by the National Archives. So, what really happened that night?

Amazon Prime Reading

What It Takes: The Way to the White House by Richard Ben Cramer

If you prefer your reading a little more political, pick up this book by Pulitzer Prize-winning journalist and New York Times best-selling author Richard Ben Cramer. It’s an intense ride along the 1988 U.S. presidential campaign trail, with timeless insight into this unique moment in history. Get up close and personal with the six presidential candidates: George H.W. “Poppy” Bush, Gary Hart, Joe Biden, Richard Gephardt, Bob Dole, and Michael Dukakis, and find out what makes otherwise ordinary people decide to throw their hat in the ring as candidates for leadership of the free world. While this isn’t a book to dip into on your morning commute, it’s great for those days you have a bit more time to dedicate to reading and offers a fascinating insight into the lives of the candidates.

Amazon Prime Reading

Twelve Years a Slave by Solomon Northup

Whether you’ve seen the 2013 movie of the same name or not, Twelve Years a Slave is a must-read. The 1853 memoir and slave narrative of Solomon Northup, a free-born African American who was kidnapped by slave traders, is a moving, vital account of forcible enslavement — and it should be on everyone’s bo

Go to Source